Interrailing in Europe!

I have been meaning to start this post for the last week, but one reason I haven’t gotten around to it, is that I have been too busy catching up with the people at home, that I have missed, and also I just couldn’t (and still cannot) imagine how this one post can even begin to reflect the adventure that I have embarked on over the past 3 weeks. Anyway, I have decided to just begin writing to express as much as possible, and then I may revisit some of my personal highlights in more detail in future posts to give all of you more of an insight into the journey I ascended on.

It all began with the purchase of an Interrail pass, and the booking of a couple of flights. So, the travel was sorted, but what about the rest? The places to visit, the accommodation to stay in, and of course the things to see and the activities to do. After a lot of planning -and a lot of confusion- we set off to Berlin, with the rest of the trip fairly open to changing plans along the way. I didn’t want the trip to be too set in stone, and leaving the booking of accommodation until a day or two before we arrived in a place allowed the flexibility and choice to change our plans along the way.

Anyway, enough of the boring stuff, what did we actually get up to?

As I mentioned, it all started in Berlin before moving onto Prague, Vienna, Budapest, Ljubjana, Bled, Venice, Rome, Bern, Frankfurt and finishing in Amsterdam over the course of 3 weeks.

Being on the move almost every other day was very tiring, but totally worth every moment. I absolutely fell in love with each and every place for different reasons. My personal favourite had to be staying at Lake Bled in Slovenia. The views are simply breathtaking and the rafting activity that we took part in was so much fun, even though I nearly froze when I decided to body raft down the river for a bit! My boyfriend’s fav (who I went on this adventure with) was Rome, which I admit was impressive to see the Colosseum -a lot more impressive in real life than I thought it would be. Switzerland was also up there with my top 3. Staying in Bern, consisted of visiting some bears, swimming in a flowing river and again witnessing the most beautiful scenery. Our visit to the mountains in Switzerland didn’t go as well as it could have done, with lots of clouds blocking our view and heavy rain, but it was still an enjoyable experience. Lastly, I’d have to say that Budapest was the other place that made it into my top 3. Only being there for an evening meant we had to squeeze a lot into a short period of time, but watching the city come alive at night, and being lit up by the light was very magical. Staying in a hostel which felt like we were staying in a log cabin definitely topped the evening off.

I hope you have enjoyed a quick insight into the most amazing 3 weeks of my life, and if you are considering doing anything similar, I couldn’t recommend it enough! It is incredible to visit lots of places, some close to where you live, and some a little further afield to soak up a range of cultures along the way. I will update you all with some further details in a few following posts, but for now, here are some selected photos from the journey, enjoy…

Our room in Budapest

IMG_0317

Castle district in Budapest

IMG_0345

The view of Lake Bled from our balcony in Slovenia

IMG_0424

Rafting in Slovenia

1004623_10151690111159871_377557751_n

At the Colosseum in Rome

IMG_0639

Swimming in Bern, Switzerland

IMG_0748

Walking up the mountains in Switzerland

IMG_0790

I would love to hear about your own adventures and journeys below!

Paris love x

About Made By Paris

I am a Loughborough university student, studying for an English degree. My passions include writing, sharing my opinions, fashion, make-up, food and friends. This blog is a little bit of me, welcome to my world...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Interrailing in Europe!

  1. gullhasnat says:

    Omg. Your pics are getting me so jel!!!!
    Lol.
    Keep having fun.

  2. LaVagabonde says:

    Looks like a fabulous trip!!

Leave a Reply

