Equal Opportunities?

The other day I was applying for internship after internship, when something caught my attention. On one application, it said that in order to monitor equal opportunities for all positions, that I must enter my ethnicity into my application. But surely this process in itself differentiates candidates according to their ethnicity? If everybody really had equal opportunities, then surely ethnicity shouldn’t be an issue, and shouldn’t be necessary in an application with claims to ‘equal opportunities’. Interviews and positions alike should be allocated according to experience and skill for the job without ethnicity even coming into the picture, right? Maybe I’m missing something here, but it seems as though this process contradicts completely what it sets out to do in the first place.

As always, I would love to know your thoughts on the matter…

Paris love x

About Made By Paris

I am a Loughborough university student, studying for an English degree. My passions include writing, sharing my opinions, fashion, make-up, food and friends. This blog is a little bit of me, welcome to my world...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Equal Opportunities?

  1. I agree with you, I don’t believe a persons ethnicity has anything to do with their ability to perform a job. Sometimes whether intentional or not negative opinions from the past can still impact today.

    • I agree. And often whether negative or not, company’s can also feel pressured to hire a person to increase diversity in the work place, when again they may not be the best person for the job. It can work both ways.

      • Exactly! its sad in a world where we have come forward in so many ways that with some things we are still living in the past and let “differences” and negativity choose for us as opposed to being open minded.

  2. Chatty Owl says:

    Yeah, i dont know why those questions are even in application forms..

Leave a Reply

