Inside the Mind of a Fresher!

Starting university and moving away from home can be a very exciting, yet daunting, experience to many of us. Have you ever wondered what its like to be a fresher? If you have had this experience yourself, how does your experience compare?  Rebecca began studying Law at the University of East Anglia (UEA) towards the end of September this year, and now I am going to catch up with her experience so far through an online interview…

So Rebecca,

Q1: How are you finding the university experience so far? Sum it up in a few words.

A: Amazing!! Independent. Challenging (in relation to my course).

Q2: Did you have expectations of what university was like before you went? Explain what these were.

A: Well with a lot of my friends going off first I had heard what uni was like but didn’t really have any of my own expectations, if that makes sense. The one thing I did expect was a lot of drinking XD

Q3: Did these expectations change when you actually moved in, and if so, in what way?

A: As I said I didn’t have many expectations. There’s definitely a lot of drinking though. Overall it’s better than I could have imagined.

Q4: Is there anything that you have experienced that was unexpected?

A: The price of laundry!!! I spend over £5 a week on washing it’s ridiculous haha, plus I didn’t expect time to go so quickly!

Q5: Are there any tips that you would give to a fresher before they started university?

A: Make a list of all the things you need/want to take with you…my dad has already had to make a trip up here to give me more stuff haha. Bring lots of tupperware, so you can cook meals and freeze them, it saves time in the long run! Be prepared to speak to anyone and start conversations with people even if they aren’t the ‘usual type’ of person that you would normally be friends with. Most of all expect the unexpected…anything can happen 😀:D

Q6. How do you maintain the correct balance between your new found freedom, living away from home, and your new responsibility to study in order to ultimately achieve your degree?

A: At the moment I’m exactly 1 month in and I still don’t have that balance. I am still in ‘holiday/freshers week mode’ and need to get out of it. I think the key is just to be organised and set yourself time to do specific things. If you say you’re going to do something then do it. Don’t leave work until the last minute!!

Q7: Homesickness can be an issue to many new students, how have you dealt with settling in to your new environment?

A: Well to be honest, I know this sounds bad, but I’m not really homesick at all. I’ve been so lucky to have the flatmates that I have because we all get on so well, so it’s like they’ve become my new family. Obviously I miss my family but I wouldn’t say I’m homesick. My advice for someone who is though, would be to keep in contact with people at home; make strong friendships in they’re new environment, and that way they’ll also have someone to talk to if they are feeling really homesick.

So there we have it, this is just one of the journeys that a fresher may experience, I would love to hear any other experiences too! Thank you Rebecca!

Paris Love x

About Made By Paris

I am a Loughborough university student, studying for an English degree. My passions include writing, sharing my opinions, fashion, make-up, food and friends. This blog is a little bit of me, welcome to my world...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

