Break Out of the Stereotype!

Image from: http://www.trollingstones.net

I tell you my sex, age, where I live and what I do– you are most likely to take a glance at my appearance too– and you immediately begin to fill in the gaps. I mean who doesn’t, it’s human nature to be curious, socially as well in many other aspects  But in all honesty, does this really mean that you can know a person simply from these details?

Society is full of stereotyping, ranging from the simple way in which male’s or female’s are perceived, even though that in itself is a grey area, and the more specific way in which people are stereotyped for being involved in a particular social group or career path and so on.

‘Stereotyping’ is defined as ‘The action of fixing or perpetuating in an unchanging form’ (Oxford English Dictionary). ‘Fixing’ and ‘unchanging’ are the words that stand out to me as being the most damaging to the term. Does this mean that we should, or are expected to, follow the ‘guidelines’ of everybody who is considered to have the same stereotype as us?

As a student- as you can probably imagine- I feel like there are a lot of stereotypes made towards us as a specific group of people, but are we really all the same? I think the answer is an obvious no, so why do these stereotypes still exist. Should we all act up to these pre-existing ‘guidelines’ or ‘rules’ that apply to us, or should we go against the ‘fixed’ and ‘unchanged’ form and act for ourselves rather that for how people expect us to behave. I think that the concept is an out-dated one, but as it stands to exist so strongly, it has got me thinking– is there some truth to this custom or do we as individuals need to break out of this preconception and do the unexpected?

Have your say below…

Comments and opinions on the topic appreciated!

Paris Love x

About Made By Paris

I am a Loughborough university student, studying for an English degree. My passions include writing, sharing my opinions, fashion, make-up, food and friends. This blog is a little bit of me, welcome to my world...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

